Posted in custard, freezing

French vanilla

Ice cream churning in my ice cream machine.
Ice cream churning in my ice cream machine.

I’ve tried making ice cream a few times before, but it’s always come out too hard.  Probably because I never have whole milk around so I’d cheat and use low fat.  This time I had plenty of whole milk around because I thought I’d need a lot more of it for the melktert, so the other day I made ice cream and yogurt.  I used a recipe from The Book on ice cream, which is called The Perfect Scoop by David Lebovitz.  It’s just his basic vanilla, the custard (French) version.  The egg yolks make it yellow.  It came out quite soft – it took a long time for it to get hard at all, and when it did it was still easily scoopable.  The crystals are a little big for an ice cream connoisseur, but I imagine that’s what you get if you use a basic ice cream machine like mine.  I think the flavor is great.  My friends appreciated it.

I do think the fat content in this ice cream is a little high.  That’s how it got to be so creamy, of course, but I think it gets in the way of the flavor.  In order to keep it creamy without so much fat, I’d need more sugar or some other solute that would lower the freezing point of water.  Such as…alcohol.  If you’ve been reading this blog, you can probably guess what kind I’d use.  I’ll let you know when I try it. I also want to try some wackier ice cream flavors, like balsamic vinegar (less crazy than you’d think, since people do pour it over their ice cream sometimes) and something involving blue cheese.

2 thoughts on “French vanilla

Leave a Reply

