Posted in baking

Pancakes

I have been craving pancakes for sooo long. Yesterday when I got home from class, I was starving, and when I’m starving, I tend to get in a bad mood. What better way to solve both problems than to make pancakes?

I used a recipe from dakota kelly at Allrecipes, which was fine although the batter seemed way too thick.  The pancakes turned out just right though, so I guess it didn’t matter much.  It may have been due not to the recipe, but to my way of mixing.  When I have to mix melted butter with milk, I melt the butter with the milk in a double boiler (the metal mixing bowl I’m using over a pot of a little boiling water) so that the milk gets warm and doesn’t make the butter solidify when I mix them together.  But this probably makes some of the milk evaporate.  I doubt it evaporated enough to make a big difference, though.  I put the recipe on metric so I could use my scale to measure, which speeds things up.  I made the pancakes in my cast-iron skillet, which was fun.  Unfortunately my stove only heats a small part of it, so I had to keep the pancakes right in the middle for them to cook evenly.  I wonder if it would help if I preheated the skillet in the oven first so that the whole thing was hot.  At any rate, my stove definitely heated that center part, because the pancakes cooked faster than I remember them cooking at home.  I was always afraid they wouldn’t be done on the inside, but they always were.  It got too hot at one point and I burned some of the butter, which gave the outside of a couple of pancakes a gross burnt flavor, but the rest came out just right.  The recipe made about 10 medium-small pancakes.

When my roommate came in and saw me making them, she asked if they were hard to make (they’re not), and I have to say I was kind of shocked at the idea of anyone not knowing exactly how hard or easy it is to make pancakes from so many Sunday mornings with their mom.  I made sure to call my mom and thank her for all the good breakfasts.  My usual breakfast is cold cereal, and I have no problem with that (I quite enjoy my Frosted Mini-Wheats, and even when I was in France, where they really do not understand the concept of sweetened cereal, the Monoprix brand tasteless cereal + hunks of milk chocolate really grew on me). But on some Sunday mornings, the mornings before big standardized tests, and other special occasions, my mom, sometimes with the help of my sister and I, would make one of the Breakfast Trinity: pancakes, waffles, or French toast.  (The French did get some things right.)  Yes, I left out biscuits, but perhaps that’s because we never quite perfected those.  Biscuits and cinnamon buns usually took the place of a member of the Trinity when we had breakfast for dinner.

Despite my love of pancakes, I have to say that I always preferred French toast.  I realized that maybe this is because my family uses powdered sugar on French toast as opposed to maple syrup.  (And keep in mind that by “maple syrup” we always meant “maple flavored corn syrup” in the form of Aunt Jemima’s Lite.)  I tried powdered sugar on my pancakes, but it was too dry.  I think French toast has more moisture.  So I mixed a little milk in with the powdered sugar.  I think it would be better if you warmed the milk a little first, but it did the trick for me.  Never mind that this means I eat my pancakes with icing on top! It’s yummy.

Leave a Reply

