Posted in baking

Sweet potato cookies

I am a Cookie Monster for our department, meaning I make cookies when speakers come (I do also eat a lot of cookies, but that’s coincidental).  The night I made these, I had completely forgotten that there was a colloquium the next day, and so I dreamt something up that I had all the ingredients for: sweet potato cookies.  I got the sweet potatoes from the farmshare, and I always have the makings for cookies.  I even had chocolate chips on hand, so I tried to make the cookies look like jack-o-lanterns, because it was right before Halloween (yes, that’s how far behind I am on posting).  It didn’t really work.  But they tasted good.

I started with the trusty old recipe on the bag of chocolate chips and tried to change it to accomodate the sweet potatoes, which I microwaved and blended.  I used the same amount of butter and sugar as normal, but more brown than white.  I used one egg instead of two, thinking the sweet potato would add moisture.  I added cinnamon and allspice.  Then I figured I would just add flour until I got to the right consistency.  I had bread and cake flour but not AP, so I figured I’d try to use half of each and it would all even out.  Well, normally you use 2 1/4 cups of flour in a batch of cookies, so I thought I’d add the flours a half a cup at a time.  But when I got to a 3/4 cup, it seemed like the right consistency.  I mean, ok, sweet potatoes are starchy, and I only used one egg.  Now I’ve made a lot of cookies in my life, folks.  I know what homemade cookie dough feels like.  But somehow, I was very, very wrong.  This was what I ended up with (don’t use it):

  1. 1 cup butter
  2. 1 cup mashed sweet potato
  3. 1 cup brown sugar
  4. 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  5. 1 egg
  6. 1 tsp vanilla
  7. 1/2 teaspoon allspice
  8. 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  9. 1 tsp baking soda
  10. 1/2 tsp salt
  11. 1/2 cup bread flour
  12. 1/4 cup cake flour
  13. chocolate chips

I lovingly scooped them onto a baking sheet and pressed chocolate chips on top as the face of a jack-o-lantern.  Jack-o-Lantern Cookie

Then I baked them.  Then I checked how they were doing in the middle.  I had a sheet of cookieness.  It was delicious.  But it was not cookies.  So I snacked on cookieness for the next few days, and I added flour like crazy to the next batch.  Which did actually turn into cookies.  I chilled them overnight and baked them in the morning.  They came out sticky and flat, but at least they were separate.  I wish I had written down how much flour I added, but I probably didn’t even measure it.

Cookieness
Part of the way through scraping the cookieness off of the sheet.

The flavors, however, were quite good.  It would not be a waste of time to work on this one.  The sweet potatoes didn’t come through as much as I would have liked, though.  They weren’t really orange so much as orangey brown and people weren’t quite sure what the flavor was.

One thought on “Sweet potato cookies

Leave a Reply

