Posted in dry heat

Kale chips

Kale Chips
Green and purple baked kale.

A long time ago I randomly found a recipe for kale chips and I thought it was a cool idea.  I get kale from my farm share, so I decided to try it.  I took three leaves and ripped them into little pieces and put olive oil and fleur de sel (schmancy salt) on them.  I added some parmesan cheese after they were cooked.  I was looking at this recipe, which suggests 15 minutes at 375°F.  I put the kale in when my oven had gotten to 300°F and checked on it at 10 minutes, knowing that my oven is a little overzealous.  I still thought it was overdone!  Maybe I should have used more oil.

Honestly, I wasn’t too impressed with the kale chips, although maybe if I had gotten them out earlier they would have been tastier.  They just didn’t have a good flavor, except for the big stems.  They tasted really good but weren’t quite cooked enough to be easy to eat.  So either the bad taste was from being burnt, and the recipe is salvageable, or chips are not how I like my kale.

One thought on “Kale chips

  1. The first (and only) time I tried them, they were okay while they were still hot, but when they got cold, they were downright awful. Never again.

Leave a Reply

