Posted in baking, thickening

Pecan Pie, because you’re never more Southern than when you live up North

Pecan pie
Caramelized on top, gooey on the inside. And, ok, burnt around the edges.

I have eaten pecan pie many, many glorious times, but I had never made it before.  I found this recipe on the website of a pecan grower, so I figured I could trust it.  I wanted to give pie crust another shot, but I was still getting over being sick and I didn’t have a ton of time, so I decided to make my life easier and buy one.  It was a tough decision, though, knowing how much better homemade pie crusts (even mine!) are than store-bought ones.  Hopefully the filling will make up for it.  I found one website that said the trick to making pecan pies was to roast the pecans first, so I started to, but then I thought, they’re going to cook in the oven, and the worst thing would be to burn them.  So I ended up not doing it.  I think that was an ok decision, but I do wish I had remembered to cover the edges of the pie crust with foil so they wouldn’t get overdone.  Ah, one day I’ll move into a place with an oven that’s younger than me, and I look forward to that day.

I used to wonder what made up the gooey deliciousness of pecan pie; I was a little disturbed to find out that it’s almost entirely corn syrup, but what are you gonna do.  It’s thickened with eggs, a little flour, and just the high concentration of sugar.  Now let’s see if these Northerners like it.  (Yes, they did.)

Leave a Reply

