Posted in wet heat

Farmshare soup

Soup
I put some sourdough bread in it that I needed to finish before it went stale.

I rarely make soup, but now that I have a sore throat it seemed like a good idea, and when I remembered that I had bouillon cubes, well, that was that.  I threw in a bunch of the vegetables we have lying around: tatsoi (a green leafy thing), carrots, celeriac, kohlrabi, and leeks.  The bouillon cubes were meat consomme stock.  They didn’t have instructions about how much water they go with, but I vaguely remembered 3 cups from my risotto making, so I went with that.  I ended up adding water a few times as the soup boiled.  And yes, it boiled, even though it probably should have simmered.  Whatever, there’s no meat in it for me to make rubbery.  I put the celeriac, kohlrabi, and carrots in first for, I don’t know, 20 minutes? and then the leeks and tatsoi in for another maybe 5 or a little more.  The carrots, leeks, and tatsoi came out great.  The celeriac and kohlrabi were a little too soft, and the kohlrabi just doesn’t taste like anything anymore, so I don’t think I’ll use it in soup from now on.  And the liquid has a weird sweetness to it, that I’m thinking may be the missing flavor of the kohlrabi (I know carrots are the obvious culprit for sweetness, but it doesn’t taste like carrot).  I don’t think it’s a good thing.  I like using the tatsoi this way, though.

So I have now used random assortments of farmshare vegetables in salads, soup, pasta sauce, and sautes.  Although my rutabaga is shriveling up and we have thrown away more old greens than I like to think about, I haven’t done too badly.

2 thoughts on “Farmshare soup

Leave a Reply

