Posted in wet heat

Mashed Rutabaga

Another thing I got from the farm that I had never tried before was rutabaga.  My only familiarity with rutabagas was seeing a neglected one sit on our countertop for a few months in college.  I wonder if my roommate ever ate it.  I neglected the first one we got on my countertop, but it wasn’t as hardy as my roommate’s and it withered up pretty quick.  So when we got another one, I put it in the fridge and I’ve been determined to do something with it.  A google search showed me that mashing is the popular approach to rutabagas, although I found that you can also eat them raw and pan-fried.  Although I was tempted to make one of my pasta sauces, I decided to go for the mash.  Haven’t done that in a while.

Mashed RutabagaYou hardly need a recipe to mash a root vegetable.  I diced it fairly small, so it would cook fast, and boiled it with salted water until it felt tender when I pierced it with a fork.  In the meantime, I minced a clove of garlic and one of my little red peppers – it was like Return of Aglio (Olio) e Peperoncino.  Just with butter instead of oil, which I let sit out while the rutabaga cooked so it would be a little soft when it came to mashing time.  I had a little low-fat milk, but none of the stuff you should really use in a mash, so I decided to just skip that.

It mashed up fine and I added a little butter and then tasted it.  Really quite delicious!  I didn’t really expect to like it that much.  But I figured I would get bored of it by the end if I didn’t go ahead and add my flavorings, so in they went.  That was my downfall.  Those peppers are just out of my tolerance zone.  How can something so pretty be so evil?  I think I got a lot tougher with spicy food in college, but these things are ridiculous.  Breathing fire gets in the way of enjoying your food.  I also think the garlic would have been better lightly cooked, which I kind of knew, but didn’t want to bother with since they were the only things I had to saute.  But according to some websites, I’m less likely to get cancer because I ate raw garlic.  Anyway, now I know: I like rutabaga.  And I get to add something to my list of quick starch-based dinners: risotto, pasta, pizza, and mashed roots.  Of course, I had made mashed potatoes (not real roots, but anyway) and mashed sweet potatoes before, but those always seemed a little trickier.  This was super easy.  I’ll just have to find something different to throw in next time.

5 thoughts on “Mashed Rutabaga

  1. Maybe I need to try rutabega again… It’s one of the only vegetables I HATE (but then again the times I tried it have been Thanksgiving dinner candied (blah) mixed with tons of margarine and marshmellows.

  2. Haha no problem. Yeah, candied rutabaga sounds kind of weird. I found it to be naturally slightly sweet. Go ahead and give it another try, this didn’t take long at all. And let me know, if you do!

Leave a Reply

