Posted in baking

Fresh From the Oven Challenge: Turkish Pide

unbaked pide
I took to pinching the corners to get them more squared off.

That’s right, I couldn’t help myself.  I joined another monthly baking club: Fresh From the Oven.  This month, Pei Lin a.k.a Mrs Ergül hosted.  She chose a recipe from Iffet’s blog My Turkish Kitchen for a Turkish bread called pide – sounds like pita, looks not entirely unlike focaccia.  I made mine whole wheat because that’s the only kind of bread flour I have around, and it worked just fine.  Mine looks very, hm, rustic, but I got the basic shape with the scoring and the sesame seeds.  The inside was soft and evenly risen, with small holes throughout.  I think it would be best with some sort of jam or butter, but I had my Turkish friend Seda over (she helped me put together my croquembouche last month), and she liked it without.  She said it was good with a Turkish yogurt drink but she didn’t have a blender to make it with. Here’s the recipe with my notes, and the directions in my own words.

4 cups (to 5 cups) All Purpose Flour – I used 4 cups
1 and 3/4 cups Warm Water – I used 1 1/2 cups
1/2 stick Butter ( melted )
1/2 tablespoon Instant Yeast – I used active dry
1 tablespoon Sugar
1/2 tablespoon Salt
Black and White Sesame Seeds – I only used black

    baked pide
    It didn't rise in the oven as much as I would have liked, but that didn't compromise its texture.
  1. Mix dry ingredients and then add and mix in wet ingredients.  (Not the sesame seeds, of course.)
  2. Knead.
  3. Rise for about 2 hours, until doubled in size.
  4. Fold, then let rest for a few minutes so it will be easier to stretch.
  5. Stretch dough into a large rectangle on a cookie sheet. (The original recipe has measurements, which I ignored. I’m a rogue like that.  I made the rectangle close to the size of my cookie sheet, but not touching any of the sides.)  Score in a square pattern.  Sprinkle sesame seeds on top.
  6. Preheat oven to 350F and let rise 30 minutes.
  7. Bake 30 minutes.
  8. Cool 20 minutes.
close-up
I like the way the black sesame seeds look on it.

The dough had a high hydration level (around the level of ciabatta bread, that famously wet dough) even with my reduction in the amount of water, and yet I found it very easy to work with.  I would definitely make this recipe again, and try it as more of a regular loaf.

a slice
It was nice and fluffy inside.
One thought on “Fresh From the Oven Challenge: Turkish Pide

  1. I made a whole wheat version, too, and I loved it. I would definitely make it again. Perhaps with a smaller pan it would be less flat. But I like it quite flat, all the better for scooping up dips!

Leave a Reply

