Posted in thickening

Apricot pate de fruit

Add apricot juice to the list of things I have pectinified:

  1. Cranberry juice
  2. Blueberries
  3. Riesling wine
  4. Red wine
  5. Honey

In fact, I was planning to make decorated sugar cookies for the Daring Bakers instead, but realized I didn’t have enough time, and knew that I could always fall back on pate de fruit.  Although I guess I should call mine pate de jus, huh?

I got a bottle of apricot juice and did my usual thing – add sugar to taste, bring to a boil, add low-sugar pectin, cook until it’s the firmness you want when you drip a little onto a plate you keep in the freezer. I found that with the amount of juice I used (it was a smaller bottle than what a lot of fruit juice comes in, but still more juice than I’ve used before), I needed a packet and a half instead of just one packet of pectin in order to not have to boil it down too much.

I poured them into everything I had available to pour stuff into – my madeleine pan, my rose molds, and even two little heart-shaped baking pans.  It all worked out really well.  I put sugar on the hearts, but as you can see, the sugar makes them less reflective and pretty, and it draws out water and gets itself dissolved.

I took these (a long time ago) to a department party (the same one I took my key lime mini-pies to last year, and once again, it all got eaten) and one of our visiting students was really happy to have a vegan option for dessert :).

Leave a Reply

